The short answer: Classic's trees plus a 16-point milestone

World of Warcraft: Forever keeps the familiar Classic talent structure and the same number of rows as patch 1.12.

The one-point milestone talents at 11, 21 and 31 points stay, and a new milestone unlocks at 16 points.

Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings and Improved Mark of the Wild stop being talents and become baseline abilities for their classes.

Blizzard's September 30 Class Deep Dive adds three rules.

Talents become available at level 10.

You change them at a class trainer in a major city.

Dual Specialization unlocks at level 40.

The official Forever sources checked do not state its total talent points, what dual spec costs or its respec cost at launch.

That was still true when we checked on 2026-10-03.

Blizzard's September 24 beta notes set only a temporary beta respec price, explained below.

For the earlier articles we opened Blizzard's U.S. English, German and Korean versions separately, and the talent numbers match in all three.

The September 30 Class Deep Dives were only available in English when we first checked on 2026-10-01.

By 2026-10-03 the German and Korean pages were online with the same talent rules.

Classic vs Forever: only what Blizzard has confirmed

TopicWoW Classic (official primer)WoW Forever (official recap)
Talent treesThree per classNo separate figure“familiar structure”
RowsNot stated in the primerSame number of rows as Classic
One-point milestones11, 21 and 31 points11, 16, 21 and 31 points16 is new
Key buff talentsLearned through talentsBaseline class abilities
Talent points1 per level from 1051 at level 60Available from level 10points per level not announced
RespecClass trainer, cost rises each timemaximum 50 goldClass trainer in a major citylaunch cost not announced; beta: 1 silver
Dual specializationNot in the primerFrom level 40cost not announced

Checked against Blizzard's U.S. English, German and Korean pages. Beta respec added 2026-09-25; level 10, trainer and dual spec rows from the September 30 Class Deep Dives, rechecked 2026-10-03.

The Classic column comes from Blizzard's own WoW Classic primer for new players.

The Forever column comes from the World of Warcraft: Forever Deep Dive panel recap.

Blizzard's September 30 Class Deep Dive adds that talents become available at level 10 and that Dual Specialization unlocks at level 40.

Where the table says “not announced”, it does not mean Forever differs from Classic.

It means Blizzard has not yet stated the Forever rule anywhere we could verify.

There is no regional difference to report: the German and Korean recaps list the same 11, 16, 21 and 31-point milestones as the U.S. English text.

The only Forever respec price Blizzard has given is a beta-only 1 silver rule from the September 24 beta notes.

So the launch cost stays “not announced”.

Official WoW Classic screenshot of the Priest talent window, showing the Discipline, Holy and Shadow trees side by side.
For comparison: the WoW Classic talent window (Classic screenshot, not Forever)Image: © Blizzard Entertainment · Source

Talent points and levels: confirmed vs calculated

In WoW Classic, Blizzard's primer says you earn one talent point per level starting at level 10, for a total of 51 points at level 60.

Blizzard's September 30 Class Deep Dive confirms that Forever talents become available starting at level 10.

It does not say how many points you earn per level, so treat one point per level as Classic's rule rather than a confirmed Forever number.

MilestoneEarliest levelBasis
11 points20Classic rule, assumed
16 points (new)25Classic rule, assumed
21 points30Classic rule, assumed
31 points40Classic rule, assumed

Our calculation, assuming one point per level from 10 with every point in one tree and without the Legacy perk Talented. Blizzard has confirmed the level 10 start, not the per-level rate.

If Forever keeps the Classic rule, a character without the Legacy perk Talented could put 16 points into one tree at level 25 at the earliest.

The 21-point milestone would follow at level 30 and the 31-point milestone at level 40.

The beta started with a level cap of 20, and Blizzard's October 1 beta development notes raised it to level 30.

Under that same assumption, a level 30 beta character without Talented has 21 points.

That is enough to test the 16- and 21-point milestones but not the 31-point one.

The Legacy perk Talented lets a character unlock talent points up to 5 levels earlier than normal, according to Blizzard's Legacy System article.

Our table leaves that perk out, so a character with Talented can reach each milestone earlier.

At its full effect, and still assuming one point per level, that would mean 16 points at level 20.

Blizzard has not said when Talented becomes available or whether it works in the beta.

What Forever changes: buff talents become baseline

In Classic, Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings and Improved Mark of the Wild were talents.

In Forever they are baseline, so points that once went to those buffs are free for other talents.

Blizzard says some talents remain exactly as they were in patch 1.12, while others have been adjusted or improved.

The Deep Dive panel used the Paladin as its detailed class example.

Paladin specNew tools named (examples)
HolyVoice of Truth · ReverenceImproved Holy Strike removed on September 24
ProtectionSwift Judgment · Templar’s Bulwark

Examples from the Deep Dive panel recap, updated for the September 24 beta notes. Not a full list; beta values may change before launch.

Its recap named Improved Holy Strike, Voice of Truth and Reverence for Holy, and Swift Judgment and Templar's Bulwark for Protection.

Blizzard's September 24 beta development notes removed Improved Holy Strike from the Holy tree and made its behavior baseline.

The same notes lower Holy Strike's cooldown to 10 seconds (was 12 seconds), so Holy Paladins no longer spend a point on that.

The developers explain that a talent cutting a core ability's cooldown so early in a healing tree felt mandatory.

Blizzard's stated aim is to cover gaps in each class without erasing what makes it unique.

More class and race details are planned through future videos and articles.

On September 30 Blizzard published the first of those class deep dives, one for the Hunter and Druid and one for the Priest and Warrior.

Official WoW Forever screenshot of the Druid's Feral Combat talent tree, with rows of talent icons below the tree name.
A Forever talent tree: the Druid's Feral Combat tree from Blizzard's September 30 Class Deep DiveImage: © Blizzard Entertainment · Source

Hunters now get Aimed Shot as a baseline ability at level 20.

Omen of Clarity is listed among the Druid's removed talents and is now baseline for the whole class, learned at level 20.

Blizzard adds that class abilities and talents may continue to evolve throughout the beta test.

Our separate Hunter, Druid, Warrior and Priest guides list each class's changes in full.

The beta known issues list from September 18 names two talent-related bugs, Twilight Focus and Vengeance.

The September 24 build changed more talents.

Treat beta talent values as subject to change.

Class-by-class talent recommendations will come in separate class guides.

Stat changes that affect your talent math

StatWhat changes in Forever
Hit chanceSpell, melee and ranged combined into one
Critical chanceSpell, melee and ranged combined into one
Weapon skillWorks as before, but less of it per item
Bonus healingAlso includes one third as much bonus damage

Spell, melee and ranged hit chance are combined into one stat, and spell, melee and ranged critical chance are combined the same way.

Blizzard says this helps hybrid specializations such as Retribution Paladins and Enhancement Shaman.

Weapon skill works as before, but items offer less of it per item.

Bonus healing now also includes one third as much bonus damage.

A solo player should expect an ordinary creature to take roughly 10–15 seconds to defeat.

If your Classic build valued hit or crit talents by comparing separate spell and melee numbers, redo that comparison for Forever.

Changing talents: class trainers, dual spec and the beta price

Blizzard's September 30 Class Deep Dive says you need to visit a class trainer in one of the major cities to change your talents.

That rule also covers Legacy talents, the perks you buy with Legacy Points.

Dual Specialization becomes available at level 40.

The article does not say what dual spec costs or where you switch between the two specs.

Its talent window screenshots show a Primary tab and a Secondary tab with a lock icon; the text does not explain the tabs.

Official WoW Forever screenshot of the top of the Hunter talent window: a Primary tab with a check mark and a Secondary tab with a lock icon.
Forever talent window from Blizzard's September 30 Class Deep Dive: Primary and Secondary tabsImage: © Blizzard Entertainment · Source

Blizzard's Classic primer says you can reset talent points at your class trainer at any time.

In Classic, the cost rises every time you reset, up to a maximum of 50 gold.

Blizzard's September 24 beta development notes add a temporary beta rule: if you have not recently changed your talents, a respec costs 1 silver.

After that first reset the next one costs much more; the notes do not give the amount.

Once 1 hour has passed, the price drops back to 1 silver.

Blizzard says this pricing is temporary and for the beta only, so it is not the rule for launch.

Blizzard's development notes thread, updated for the October 1 beta build, still lists this 1 silver rule, and the October 1 notes do not change it.

No official Forever source we checked states what a respec costs at launch.

TopicWhat Blizzard saysSource
Where to change talentsClass trainer in a major citySeptember 30 article
Legacy talentsSame class trainerSeptember 30 article
Dual SpecializationFrom level 40cost not announcedSeptember 30 article
Beta respec, no recent change1 silverSeptember 24 beta notes
Next beta resetMuch higheramount not statedSeptember 24 beta notes
1 hour after the first beta resetBack to 1 silverSeptember 24 beta notes
Respec cost at launchNot announced—

Beta prices are temporary and are not the launch rule. Checked 2026-10-03.

Players are already discussing where switching should happen.

In our daily report data collected on 2026-10-01, one U.S. forum thread had 22 replies.

It asks that dual spec switching be limited to class trainers.

That is a player request, not a Blizzard rule.

Use the cheap beta respec to test builds, and plan your points before spending them at launch.

If you want a second build, plan to reach level 40 first and confirm the switching rules in game.

Using a talent calculator without getting misled

Even Blizzard's Classic primer points players to talent calculators made by the community.

Those calculators are not official tools, so this guide does not quote their numbers.

① Check whether the calculator is built for WoW Classic or for Forever.

A Classic calculator has no 16-point milestone.

② If it is a Forever calculator, check which beta build it uses.

Blizzard's September 22 client update lists version 1.60.1 build 69977.

New beta builds followed on September 24 and October 1, and their development notes do not list a version number.

③ Check a talent Blizzard moved on September 24.

For Elemental Shaman, Elemental Fury moved from row 3 to row 6 and Elemental Alacrity from row 6 to row 3.

For Protection Warriors, Bastion moved from row 5 to row 6 and Focused Rage from row 6 to row 5.

A calculator that shows the old rows, or still lists Improved Holy Strike for Holy Paladins, predates the September 24 build.

It can also run ahead of the beta.

Blizzard's September 30 article lists some Feral Druid talents as new to the following week's build and not in the beta yet.

Blizzard's October 1 beta notes then added new Feral talents, so also check when a calculator was last updated.

④ Make sure buffs that became baseline, such as Divine Spirit, are not still listed as talents you have to buy.

The final word is always the tooltip in the in-game talent window.

Check before you trust a calculator

  1. Classic or Forever?A Classic calculator has no 16-point milestone
  2. Which beta build?New beta builds arrived on September 24 and October 1
  3. Moved talents in place?Elemental Alacrity in row 3, Focused Rage in row 5
  4. Baseline buffs gone?Divine Spirit and similar buffs should not be talents
  5. In-game talent windowThe tooltip there has the final word

Checklist before you spend your first points

Pick your class and race first.

This site's class and race tool filters the published combinations.

Do not reserve points for Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings or Improved Mark of the Wild; Blizzard says those three buffs are baseline.

Check which milestone you can reach at the current beta level cap before judging a tree.

If you want a second build, plan on Dual Specialization from level 40.

Reassigning talent points and changing Legacy talents require a class trainer in a major city.

Where you switch between your two specs has not been announced.

When Blizzard publishes Forever's talent points, the dual spec cost or the launch respec cost, we will update this guide.

We will also update the Official Confirmations page.

This guide reflects Blizzard's official sources as checked on 2026-10-03.

They include the beta development notes updated October 1 and the September 30 Class Deep Dives.